A Trip To The Democratic National Convention

Last week, I had the opportunity to cover the 2016 Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia for Boston University News Service. This was an eye opening experience; one that I am truly grateful for and one that I hope will lead to similar work in the future. Here are the stories that I produced during the four day convention.

The 2016 Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. Photo by Michael Sol Warren
The 2016 Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. Photo by Michael Sol Warren

“Maura Healey Talks Gun Control at DNC” – Boston University News Service

Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey spoke on a panel hosted by pro-gun control lobby Americans for Responsible Solutions. Her role was to use Massachusetts as an example of what effective gun control looks like.

“Disappointed Sanders Supporters Demonstrate Outside DNC” – Boston University News Service

Funny story: when I got to the Wells Fargo Center on Tuesday afternoon, I still didn’t have my credentials. Waiting to have them brought to me turned into observing the pro-Sanders crowd watch as the roll call vote made the Vermont senator’s loss official. This story is about the scene outside the arena.

“KSFR’s Michael Warren Breaks Down Policy Priorities For Democratic Platform” – KSFR

This was my only piece of work for someone other than Boston University News Service during the convention. I called into Santa Fe Public Radio (the parent station of Here & There with Dave Marash, the show that I work as an associate producer for) and gave a quick update on what I’d see at the DNC up to that point. This meant recapping Rural Council and Hispanic Caucus meetings and describing the reaction of Sanders supporters.

“Spotted: Former Gov. Bill Weld at the DNC” – Boston University News Service

At one point on Wednesday, former Massachusetts Governor Bill Weld wandered into the media tent outside of the Wells Fargo Center and began fielding questions from reporters. It took me a minute to recognize the Libertarian Party’s vice-presidential candidate, but once I realized who it was I asked him some questions. He was in a bit of a rush, so I only got a five-minute walk and talk and a very brief interview. Still, this has somehow become one of my most-read pieces ever.

“Tim Kaine Attacks Trump In Nomination Acceptance Speech” – Boston University News Service

The Boston University News Service team had limited credentials, so we each had to take turns going into the actual arena to watch speeches. We ended up divvying up the days; Wednesday was my day. This meant I was in the stands for Leon Panetta, Dr. Jill Biden, Vice President Joe Biden, Michael Bloomberg and Tim Kaine. Definitely the most star-studded lineup of anything I’ve ever covered. Tim Kaine took on the traditional role Vice Presidential role of attack-dog, going hard after Donald Trump, but he did so in a very dad-joke manner. I think it was entertaining.

“President Obama Uses Familiar Themes To Support Clinton” – Boston University News Service

I saw the President of the United States deliver a speech in person, then I wrote about it. That’s not a thing I ever thought I would do, but here we are.

“Spotted: Libertarian Nominee Gary Johnson at the DNC” – Boston University News Service

Thursday was apparently former New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson’s turn to mill about in the media tent. Just as I had done with his running-mate Bill Weld, I did a quick walk and talk interview with the Libertarian Party’s presidential candidate. His face lit up when I told him I was affiliated with Santa Fe Public Radio, so I got a little chuckle out of that.

Leave a Reply

